Creating, Saving and Naming Files

FILE | New

File New opens a new weaving design window using the number of shafts, treadles (or liftplan) as defined in Settings. The number of shafts, treadles, tie-up or liftplan and view options may be changed in the Project Menu.

It is recommended that you save your new file soon (see Save As) after starting to invest time in your new design.

File | Save

Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl-S

File Save will save the changes in the current design window. The short cut, CTRL-S, does the same thing as FILE | SAVE. It is recommended to save frequently when doing a significant amount of design work. A message shows towards the bottom of the screen that your file was saved.

File | Save As

Use the File | Save As option to copy the current WIF file under another name and/or folder.

It’s important to note that when you do a SAVE AS, you are immediately working under the new (save as) name. Any changes made since the last time you did a SAVE (under the prior name) will not be saved to the previous file name, but instead will be saved under the new name indicated on “Save AS”.

If the file name you select for your new file already exists, you will be given the option to overwrite (replace) the existing file or to cancel.

It’s helpful to organize your projects by folders. You may want to organize certain types of projects (scarves, table linens, rugs, yardage) by folder. Within those category folders, you can further add subfolders as needed. I normally create a folder for every weaving project. Within that folder I save the weaving design file as well as planning sheets, notes about the project such as sizes before and after finishing and pictures. If you aren’t familiar with file explorer in Windows or Finder on the Mac, it’s helpful to learn to navigate through the file system so that you can stay organized and always know where your designs are saved.

The Save As function defaults to the directory that was last used for a save to open a new design. Use Browse or Recent Folders to locate a different folder

After Saving a draft, a green banner will appear at the bottom of the screen confirming the save is completed. Some keyboard shortcuts and actions will not work until that green save banner appears.

File Names

For more information about file names and extensions, see File Types used by TempoWeave.

Creating a New Design from an Existing One

Sometimes it’s helpful to start a new design from an existing one. To do this, open the existing design and use File | Save As to generate a new name. Do this before making changes to protect the original design from unintended changes.